Peter Westergaard
August 30, 2016, 4:01 am CDT


News

2007-04 - Working in Toronto, a short walk from home, probably for the rest of the year! Client is a large communications provider.

2006/2007 - Various clients, one in Texas, but mostly in Toronto.

2006-02 - Working in New Jersey on weekdays, at a client in the pharmaceutical industry.

2006-01 - Working in Chicago, Warwick UK, and the home office, for a client in the consulting industry

2005-12 - Occasional work from an office right down the road, for a newspaper.

Interests

Graphics - Web graphics, photos, that sort of thing.

Webpages - Pages I run for other people, and pages I have designed, and maybe even some pages I happen to like, or hate. Also, some of the tools that I'm getting into, like MySQL and PHP

IM - Yes, that beloved time-waster of the modern age, I indulge from time to time. I've got business and personal contacts on ICQ, MSN, Yahoo, AOL, and Skype. I've got Trillian Pro (from Cerulean) to allow me to better manage these contacts and interactions.

Games - I play Backgammon and Go (my newest rediscovered passion) pretty frequently against live opponents online. I've also started playing turn-based games (because they fit my schedule much better). My biggest site at the moment is DailyGammon. I'm a big fan of that kind of site, and I hope (at some point, in my copious spare time) to work out a smaller site like IYT, dedicated to medieval/renaissance period games. I'm a big fan of Interactive Fiction games, like the old gems from Infocom.

RPG's - I enjoy Role-Playing Games (RPG's), although I have a definite preference for the live "table-top" style over so-called computer RPG's, even multi-player ones. I just find they're not sophisticated enough yet.

European pre 17th c. history - I find this period of history very interesting, and I belong to a club (the SCA) which generally feels the same way.

Cryptography - A bit of a fascination for me, although more so within the above-mentioned historical context.

Calligraphy and Illumination - Another one of my hobbies within the context of the SCA.